Cherwell District Council

Council

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 8 December 2011 at 6.30 pm

Present: Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE (Chairman) Councillor Colin Clarke (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Ken Atack **Councillor Alyas Ahmed Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Norman Bolster** Councillor Ann Bonner Councillor Margaret Cullip **Councillor Mrs Diana Edwards** Councillor Tim Emptage **Councillor Andrew Fulljames** Councillor Michael Gibbard **Councillor Simon Holland Councillor Alastair Milne Home** Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes **Councillor James Macnamara Councillor Melanie Magee Councillor Nicholas Mawer Councillor Nigel Morris Councillor George Parish** Councillor D M Pickford Councillor Lynn Pratt **Councillor Neil Prestidge** Councillor G A Reynolds **Councillor Alaric Rose Councillor Daniel Sames** Councillor Lynda Thirzie Smart Councillor Patricia Tompson **Councillor Douglas Webb Councillor Martin Weir** Councillor Douglas Williamson **Councillor Barry Wood**

AlsoChief Constable Sara Thornton, Thames Valley PolicePresent:Superintendent Andy Boyd, Thames Valley Police

Apologies	Councillor Rick Atkinson
for	Councillor Fred Blackwell
absence:	Councillor Patrick Cartledge
	Councillor John Donaldson
	Councillor Mrs Catherine Fulljames

Councillor Chris Heath Councillor David Hughes Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Tony Ilott Councillor Victoria Irvine Councillor Kieron Mallon Councillor P A O'Sullivan Councillor Leslie F Sibley Councillor Trevor Stevens Councillor Lawrie Stratford Councillor Rose Stratford Councillor Nicholas Turner

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive Calvin Bell, Director of Development Ian Davies, Director of Community and Environment Martin Henry, Director of Resources / Section 151 Officer Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer Chris Rothwell, Head of Community Services James Doble, Democratic, Scrutiny and Elections Manager

55 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

56 **Communications**

There were no communications.

57 Petitions and Requests to Address the Meeting

There were no petitions or requests to address the meeting.

58 Urgent Business

There was no urgent business.

59 Minutes of Council

The minutes of the meeting held on 1 November 2011 were agreed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

60 Thames Valley Police - Address by Chief Constable

The Chairman welcomed Sara Thornton, Chief Constable of Thames Valley Police and Cherwell Local Area Commander Superintendent Andy Boyd to the meeting.

Chief Constable Thornton addressed the meeting regarding policing in Thames Valley. A number of Members asked questions and answers were duly provided.

The Chairman thanked the Chief Constable and Superintendent Boyd.

61 Minutes

a) Minutes of the Executive, Lead Member Decisions and Executive Decisions made under Special Urgency

Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting of the Executive and Lead Member decisions as set out in the Minute Book be received and that it be noted that since the last meeting of Council, no items had been taken that were subject to the special urgency provisions of the Constitution.

b) Minutes of Committees

Resolved

That the minutes of Committees as set out in the Minute Book be received.

62 Questions

a) Written Questions

There were no written questions.

b) Questions to the Leader of the Council

Questions were asked and answers received on the following issues:

Empty homes: Councillor Emptage Implications of council tax collection over 12 months: Councillor Williamson

c) Questions to Committee Chairmen on the minutes

There were no questions to Committee Chairman on the minutes of meetings.

63 Motions

There were no motions.

64 Standards Committee Independent Member - Extension of Term of Office

The Head of Law and Governance and Monitoring Officer submitted a report to seek approval of the extension of the term of office of Kenneth Hawtin, Independent Member of the Standards Committee. It was outlined that it was a requirement of the Cherwell constitution to have 4 independent members and in light of the imminent end of the standards regime an extension to the term of office was felt to be the most expedient option given these circumstances.

Resolved

(1) That the continued appointment of Kenneth Hawtin as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee be approved until the Council makes a decision on the future of the Standards Committee in light of the Localism Act 2011.

65 A Shared Information Services/Information Technology (IS/IT) service

The Head of Finance and Procurement submitted a report to propose that the principle of a shared IS/IT service be adopted as part of the Cherwell District Council policy framework. It was outline that this procedural issue required approval of Council in order to enable the Executive to make a decision on the business case in due course.

Resolved

(1) That the principle of establishing a shared IS/IT service with South Northamptonshire Council be included within the Council's policy framework.

The meeting ended at 7.45 pm

Chairman:

Date: